THANK YOU 2000-09 SUN DEVIL BASEBALL PLAYERS, COACHES & STAFF

2000-09 ACCOMPLISHMENTS, ACCOLADES & NOTABLE PLAYERS

Highest winning percentage in the conference during the 10-year span

433 wins

78 MLB Draft picks

47 First Team All-Pac-10 honors

33 All-Americans

11 Team USA Members

10 NCAA Tournament appearances

6 Pac-10 Player of the Year Awards

4 Pac-10 titles, including three consecutive from 2007-08

4 Pac-10 Coach of the Year Awards

4 Academic All-Americans of the year

3 trips to OMAHA

2 Pac-10 Newcomers of the Year

1 National Player of the Year

Mike Leake puts his name on the Mt. Rushmore of ASU pitchers with 40 wins in three seasons and back-to-back Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year Awards

"The Streak" - NCAA Consecutive Scoring Streak record is set at 506 games in 2004

Eric Sograd goes from Thunderbird HS grad to Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year

Record for most players drafted in a single season – 2008 (15)

Mitch Jones sets single the single season home run record (27)

Kole Calhoun becomes The Mayor of Omaha

Jeff Larish hits three home runs on June 21, 2005 at Rosenblatt Stadium

Brett Wallace wins BACK-to-BACK Triple Crowns

Dustin Pedroia puts together one of the best careers in collegiate baseball history

(185 starts, 298 hits, .384 average, 3-time First-Team All-Conference, 2-time Defensive Player of the Year)

Casey Myers proves what living The Sun Devil Way means as he wins back-to-back NCAA Academic

All-American of the Year - 2000, 2001

COACH MURPHY'S ACCOMPLISHMENTS AND ACCOLADES

1,002 career wins

629 wins at ASU

Four College World Series Appearances, including one championship game appearance in 1998

Four Pac-10 titles, including three consecutive from 2007-08

Four top-five finishes at ASU, including three top-three

Five NCAA Regional titles

16 NCAA Regional appearances, including 12 at ASU

Four-time Pac-10 Coach of the Year

1998 National Coach of the Year

Eight 40-win seasons at ASU

Two 50-win seasons at ASU, including 54-14 (.794) in 2003

47-26 (.644) against Arizona and won 12 of 15 season series from the Wildcats



TRANSITIONING THE LEGACY

FORMER PLAYERS RETURNING TO PACKARD FOR 2000-09 CELEBRATION

Andrew Aplin - OF - 2010-12

Daryl Arreola - RHP - 2006

Floyd Bannister - RHP - 1974-76 - MLB (throwing out the first pitch on Friday)

Brian Berger - INF - 1999-00

Willie Bloomquist – INF – 1997-99 - MLB (throwing out the first pitch on Sunday)

Brett Bordes - LHP - 2003-06

Greg Bordes - INF - 2005, 07-08

Travis Buck - OF - 2003-05 - MLB

Kole Calhoun - OF - 2009-10 - MLB

Cesar Castillo – C – 2001-02

Brooks Conrad - 2B - 1999-01 - MLB

Seth Dhaenens - INF - 2004-06

Eric Doble - RHP - 1999-01

Chris Duffy - OF - 2001 - MLB

Jake Elmore - INF - 2008 - MLB

Mark Ernster – INF – 1997-99

Mike Esposito – RHP - 2000-02 - MLB

Rob Gorrell - RHP - 1991

Chip Gosewisch – UTL - 1996-99

Tuffy Gosewisch - C - 2002-05 - MLB

Joe Hatasaki – LHP - 2007

Joey Hooft - INF - 2005

Danny Ikeda - OF - 1960-62

Ty Johnson - RHP - 1997, 99-01

Bryce Kartler - LHP/OF - 2000-03

Aaron Klusman – RHP - 2001-03

Rocky Laguna - OF/1B - 2005-08

Richy Leon - INF - 1995-98

Iered Liebeck - RHP - 2000-03

Matt Newman - OF - 2008-11

Abe Ruiz - INF - 2009, 11

Doug Schutt – OF - 2002

Eric Sogard - 2B - 2005-07 - MLB

Dennis Starkins - OF - 1962-63

Raoul Torrez - INF - 2007-10

Riccio Torrez - INF - 2009-11

Jason Urquidez – RHP - 2004-05

Tim Vasquez – RHP- 1996-97

Beau Vaughan – RHP – 2003

OTHER NOTABLE GUESTS

Craig Counsell (played for coach Murphy at Notre Dame, 15-year MLB veteran, 2x World Series Champion – '97 Marlins, '01 Diamondbacks – 2001 NLCS MVP)

Roland Hemond (received the Buck O'Neil Lifetime Achievement Award; three-time winner of MLB's Executive of the Year Award in '72, '83, '89; credited with the original idea for the Arizona Fall League)